Jaded at first, rejuvenated eventually

10Aug06

I’m so tired of reading & blogging so much about what I dislike about Singapore’s politics & social issues simply because, seriously, it’s like swimming in a fishbowl; you just keep going back to the same stuff over and over again. It’s either about how tight censorship is here or how little pay & freedom people have in terms of freedom of speech, chewing of gum, lighting of ciggies, firecrackers, homing missiles, etc or how members of the government manage to screw up the overpromised and underdelievered policies time and again…

The worst thing is, nothing substantial ever solves the problem no matter how much blogging has been done online on these issues. SO. It’s really none of my business anyway. I shall save myself from useless banter by turning my attention to the subject that stirs me awake anytime, anywhere… FOOD!! Gluttons hands up! lol.

Just a little update on restaurant reviews from my humble & honest opinion…
(Did I tell you guys my dream job is to be a world-travelling food critic? Imagine all that free travel & food & star treatment cuz everyone wants you to put in a good word… I can’t picture myself doing the Japan Hour’s ‘(keeps silent in bliss for 5 seconds while savouring the taste of Godly food & making everyone’s mouth water) mmmmmm oooishii!!’ expression on television though. I’ll do my own version.
Just keep chewing, smiling, shaking my head in defeat and nodding occasionally….purrfect. Someone wake me up. lol.

Me gonna rave about this restaurant I brought Shuwen to the other day..
Ma Maison at Bugis Junction. Its waitresses all wear kimonos.. not the real kind which takes tons of skill to wear (although I do know Nami in Toronto, that serves excellent traditional Japanese grilled seafood including live, raw, sea urchins, does have a full-Japanese crew who wears real kimonos to wait on tables), just a simplified robe that looks like the real thing, but good enough anyway.
So at Maison Shuwen ordered the Miso Beef Stew that came with spagetti. Quite an innovative concoction of ingredients, I must say. It wasn’t overly salty from the miso, and the beef cubes were really tender & juicy. The portion was just right for one person too. As for me, I originally wanted their highly recommended Hamburger Steak, but i realised that it was a patty with pork inside too, so I took the waitress’s recommendation of their sirloin steak. It wasn’t a bad recommendation at all. Although the steak wasn’t as thick as what some other western cuisine restaurants would’ve served up, the meat was prime sirloin, the surface was a little crispy and the meat inside was soooo tender & easy to chew… I had it done medium, and I must say, that did the steak justice because the flavour was all retained. Gosh I wanta go back to try that famed Hamburger steak & beef stew! lol.

Ma Masion: 3.5 stars out of five!
I wish I took some pictures, but I’m gadget deficient now. lol.
Just a note:
New restaurant in town!~ If you like French fine dining at a cosy setting,
Le Pont De Vie, located along Waterloo street (just behind Plaza by the Park. The street is closed temporarily and therefore inaccessible to automobiles due to construction work going on), opens for dinner starting tomorrow.. I have 2 classmates from my school waitering there, and I got to have a peek today. It’s an old hut standing by itself, housing a theatre used for rehearsals as well. When you enter its front porch, there’s this whimsical-looking wooden-built outdoor stage with wavy wooden benches for the audience.
The seating capacity’s rather small, about 8 to 10 tables max, I’d say from my observation. If you’ve got an expensive taste for French cuisine, you can go give it a try. I daren’t say it’s good, for obvious reasons, so yea. Just for your information anyway. 🙂

4 Responses to “Jaded at first, rejuvenated eventually”

  1. 1 Bob Simmons

    Good to see that “Le Pont de Vie” dot a mention. I have been there on a number of occasions because the food is really excellent as is the service. Sitting outside, sipping a cocktail or good glass of red wine with canapes is a great way to pass an evening if you don’t want to fine dine indoors.

  2. I’ve never actually tried dining there myself, just got to know about it cuz the owner’s a lecturer of F&B in my hospitality school. Maybe with your testimony I really should. Great to note too that the construction blocking entry from Bras Brasah Road is now cleared too.. 🙂

  3. 3 Bertram Schneider

    Le Pont de Vie is going from strength to strength and has now relocated to 26 Kandahar Street near Sultan mosque off Northbridge Road, Singapore 198888

  4. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. 🙂 Cheers! Sandra. R.


Leave a Reply

